News from Angela

Lourdes

Salut everyone, I’m  staying in the City of the Poor just above Lourdes and it is the most amazing place.
It is the birthplace of Secours Catholique, Caritas France and was the spiritual home of the visionnaire Mgr Jean Baptiste Rodhain and I encourage you to research his life to understand more.

What I can tell you is, the concept of bringing people of material poverty and those with a desire to participate in the caring and sharing with and for one another, plays out in the most dynamic way.  Resulting in a practical, and fulfilling experience of life.

For me, I would like to invite those responsible for planning and commissioning health and social services together with directors of European members of Caritas organisations across Europe together here in order to experience the city of the poor and become acquainted with solutions.  There are many excellent examples and solutions on offer for the aged, migrant, young unemployed people, all  who have so much to offer our society, if only they could be empowered to.

Last night, I went to the torch light procession in Lourdes and received a blessing from a young woman from Liverpool.  Shannon  was with her family. I heard her singing, before I met her, she was being pushed in her wheelchair through the Port of St Joseph.  She became aware of my voice speaking to her parents and she stopped singing and called out ‘hello, who’s that?”.  I brought my face closer to hers, and she asked me my name, I replied, and she said ‘hello Angela, lovely to meet you” she kissed me on the hand, and continued to sing her song which she composed especially for me.

Angela

CAFOD Hallam

This entry was posted in CAFOD HALLAM by cafodhallam. Bookmark the permalink.

About cafodhallam

CAFOD is an aid and development agency dedicated to improving the lives of the poorest in our world. In the UK we work to educate people about the causes of poverty, inspire them to campaign to address issues of social justice and inequality, and support them in fundraising activities. Overseas we work with local partners in 40 countries in South America, Africa and Asia to deliver long-term development projects and emergency aid. CAFOD's headquarters are in London and CAFOD Hallam is the local office for Sheffield and the surrounding area.

Leave a Reply

